Post on behalf

The Post on behalf feature gives you the possibility to allow a user, or multiple, to create content or share content on behalf of another user. For example, this enables your C-level executives or other users who don't have the time to create or share their own content to allow their assistants the permission to create and share to their networks on their behalf.

There are a few key terms to understand about the Post on behalf feature:

  • Content collaboration: The relationship between a Content Owner and their Content Writer(s) is referred to as a content collaboration.
  • Content owner (CO): The user on whose behalf the content is created and shared. This user's name will appear as the content creator, and shares will be shown on their social network accounts. In our example images, the content owner is called John Smith.
  • Content writer (CW): The user who creates and shares the content on behalf of the owner. This user's participation in creating and sharing content on behalf of the owner is hidden from other users; their name does not appear on the posts or the shares. In our example images, the content writer is called Jade Sanchez. They have been given permission to create and share content on behalf of John Smith.

mceclip0.png

The CO and company admins will be able to see which writer created a post, when it was created, and when it was released.

Create a content collaboration

Only a Company Admin can create a content collaboration.

  1. Go to Administration > Settings > Post on behalf
  2. Select Add collaborators
  3. Choose a CO by searching with part of their name and selecting them from the list
  4. Choose a CW by searching with part of their name and selecting them from the list
  5. Determine what the CW is allowed to do on behalf of the CO: Post creation and/or External Share
  6. If applicable, add another CW. You can have multiple CWs for one CO.
  7. Select Save to create the collaboration

Once an admin has created a collaboration, a notification will be sent to the CO for their approval or rejection of the collaboration. Only after the CO has reviewed a collaboration will it become active, and the CWs will be informed via email that they can create and/or share content on behalf of the CO.

post on behalf collaborations.png

Role restrictions

There are some restrictions on which user can be a content owner or content writer in a collaboration:

  • A Company or Group Admin cannot be a Content Owner, but they can be a Content Writer.
  • A Content Owner cannot be a Content Writer for someone else; vice versa, a Content Writer for someone, cannot be a Content Owner themselves.
  • A Content Owner can have multiple Content Writers that are allowed to create and/or share content on their behalf. Permissions are given on a user level, so one Writer can be allowed to only create content while another can be allowed to create and share content. 

Edit or delete a content collaboration

Company admins and COs have different permissions for editing and deleting collaborations. Admins can edit a collaboration's CO and CWs and can delete both full collaborations and individual CWs from a collaboration. COs can only delete full collaborations.

For company admins

  1. Go to Administration > Settings > Post on behalf
  2. Find the content collaboration in the list
  3. Edit or delete the full collaboration or individual CWs from a collaboration
    • Delete full collaboration
      1. Select the three dots at the end of the collaboration row
      2. Select Delete
    • Edit or delete individual CWs
      1. Select the three dots at the end of the collaboration row
      2. Select Edit
      3. Select the trashcan icon next to the CW you want to delete
      4. Add a new CW, if applicable
      5. Select Save

For content owners

  1. Go to the user profile drop-down menu > Settings > Post on behalf
  2. Select the three dots at the end of the collaboration row
  3. Select Delete

delete content collaboration by CO.png

Create a post on behalf

  1. Select post type, e.g., Link
  2. Select Post as content writer
  3. Select a content owner from the list
  4. Continue creating the post as usual. There are some important points to keep in mind:
    • Select channels and settings: When a CW creates content as the CO, the CO's channel and language settings are used.
    • Publish the post: The CW's publishing permissions are used. For example, if the CW is a Company Admin and the CO is a regular user, the post will be published immediately without requiring approval as the CW has full publishing permissions. If the CW is a regular user, the post will go through the normal approval process and needs to be approved by an admin before it appears on the published feed.

After a post is created, the CO can see the post on their My Posts page. The CW can see all posts they've created on behalf of a CO on a Post on behalf feed.

mceclip1.png

The following notifications are sent for a post created on behalf:

  • If a post gets feedback, only the CW receives a notification.
  • If an admin publishes a post, both the CW and CO receive a notification.
  • If an admin rejects a post, only the CW receives a notification.

Edit or delete a post on behalf

The CO or CW can edit a proposed post before it's approved and published or scheduled to be published in any channel. The CO can see the post on their My Posts page. The CW can see all posts they've created on behalf of a CO on the Post on behalf feed. A proposed, scheduled, or published post can be deleted by the CO or CW on their respective feeds.

Share a post on behalf

  1. Find a post to share
  2. Select the LinkedIn or X sharing icon under the post
  3. Select Share as content writer
  4. Select a content owner from the list
  5. Continue sharing the post as usual

On their respective View my Insights pages, the CW and CO can see post on behalf shares and cancel scheduled or smart shares.

scheduled post on behalf share.png

For sharing on behalf to work successfully, both the CO and the CW must connect their social media accounts to Haiilo. The sharing process requires validation through the CW's social account before being shared on the CO's account.

Was this article helpful?