Create, edit, or archive a channel

All the content created is published in Channels. You cannot create content without a channel to publish it in. You can easily create, edit or archive a channel in Haiilo from Administration > Settings > choosing a group you'd like to create a channel in > Channels. All channels are created on a group level, so you cannot create channels in the Company Settings but have to select a group first.

Screenshot 2023-11-20 at 13.00.20.png

Create a channel

In the Channels tab, click the Create new channel-button. This will open a window where you can:

  • Input a channel name
  • Decide if the channel will be Public or Private.
    • If you create a Private channel, you cannot change the visibility back to Public.
    • A Private channel is also hidden from Company Admins unless they add themselves as Channel Managers during creation or are invited to join later by the Channel Manager they set.
  • Write a description for your channel telling your users what kind of content this channel contains
  • Add a Channel Manager or Analyst who will manage the channel.

When you are ready to create your channel, click Create and it will be created and appear in your channel list. If it is Public, your users can see it in their channel lists along with the description you entered.

Edit a channel

If you want to edit a channel that you have already created, find it in the channel list in the Channels settings and click on the channel's name which you want to edit to open the channel details window. Here you can edit all the details you input when originally creating the channel, but you can also choose the channel's status:
  • Active: an active channel is open; users can subscribe to and propose content. Mark the channel as Active if you want it to be in use.
  • Archived: please read more below

Archive a channel

When you have a channel in your Haiilo domain that you no longer use or want to stop using, you can easily archive the channel so it will not be visible in anyone's channel list, and no one will be able to create content in it. All content created in the channel will remain on the Haiilo feeds. Channels in Haiilo cannot be deleted; they are simply archived.

To change the status to archived, select Archived under the channel status option. You will see a pop-up window asking you to confirm the change.

You can see your Archived channels under all your Active channels in the channel settings. If you decide later to start using the channel again, you can navigate back to the channel details window for the channel and mark it as Active again. All subscribers in the channel will remain, so if it is ever reactivated, the previously subscribed users will see it again in their channel list.

Was this article helpful?